Transforming Higher Education for a Sustainable Tomorrow


Richard F. Heck, Ei-ichi Negishi and Akira Suzuki for being awarded the 2010 Nobel Prize in Chemistry “for palladium-catalyzed cross couplings in organic synthesis”.

The scientists were honored for discovering more efficient ways of linking carbon atoms together to build the complex molecules that are improving our everyday lives. Palladium catalysts in general have higher chemical yields and higher functional group tolerance. Palladium-catalyzed cross couplings are an investigative chemical tool that has vastly improved the opportunities for chemists to create sophisticated chemicals, directly enhancing product development in pharmaceutical and electronics industries.

Connection with Elsevier
Richard F. Heck, Professor at the University of Delaware has published in:
Inorganica Chimica Acta, Journal of Organometallic Chemistry and Tetrahedron Letters.

Ei-ichi Negishi, Professor at Purdue University has published in:
Heterocycles, Inorganica Chimica Acta, Journal of Molecular Catalysis A: ChemicalJournal of Organometallic Chemistry,  Polyhedron, Tetrahedron, Tetrahedron Asymmetry and Tetrahedron Letters.

Akira Suzuki, Professor at Hokkaido University has one of his first papers on Pd coupling in Tetrahedron Letters and has also published in Journal of Organometallic Chemistry and Tetrahedron.

Beside that all 3 winners have contributed to many of our books as authors and editors.



Andrew Geim and Konstantin Novoselov shared the Nobel Prize in Physics “for groundbreaking experiments regarding the two-dimensional material grapheme.”

The discovery of graphene is a simple yet remarkable material with very unusual properties. The use of graphene is expected to have a major impact on the development of new computers, electronics, materials and solar cells.

Connection with Elsevier

Both have published numerous papers with Elsevier.

Andrew Geim is an Advisory Board member to Physica E: Low-dimensional Systems and Nanostructures. He has served as guest editor, organizing several topical issues on graphene for Solid State Communications.

Konstantin Novoselov contributed a chapter, “Graphene: Electronic Properties”, to the 2008 title Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology.

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel was awarded jointly to Peter A. Diamond, Dale T. Mortensen and Christopher A. Pissaridesfor their analysis of markets with search frictions.”

They formulated a theoretical framework for search markets, developing mathematical model which can be applied to labor markets.Their models help us understand the ways in which unemployment, job vacancies and wages are affected by regulation and economic policy. Their theory is also applicable to other areas, such as the housing market, monetary theory and family economics.

Connection with Elsevier

All 3 winners have published many of their own papers with Elsevier.

Dale Mortensen serves as an Advisory Board member for Review of Economic Dynamics

Cambridge scientist Robert G. Edwards was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for the development of human in vitro fertilization (IVF) therapy.

His achievements have made it possible to treat infertility, a medical condition affecting more than 10 percent of all couples worldwide.

Connection with Elsevier

Dr. Edwards, professor emeritus at the University of Cambridge, founded the journal Reproductive BioMedicine Online.


Click Here to Access the Free Articles







Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: